Search
IFIC logo
The Voice of Canada’s Investment Funds Industry

Value of Advice

The benefits of financial advice are now well-recognized. Independent research and academic studies confirm the higher levels of wealth achieved by those who use advisors on an ongoing basis. These investors also have better savings habits and are more confident in their ability to meet their retirement income needs.

In Canada, advice is readily available because the foundational principles of investment funds – shared costs, risks and rewards – extend to advisor services. These enable Canadian investors, even first-time savers and those with modest levels to invest, to access advice at a lower cost than investors in several other countries.



Documents

2020
IFIC and Pollara Strategic Insights Investor Survey (September 2020)

The annual survey measures the attitudes, opinions, and behaviours of mutual fund and exchange-traded fund investors in Canada. This year, the survey has been expanded to include investor responses on responsible investing.


Saving for the Future: Impacts of Financial Advice on the Canadian Economy

This research report is an update of the Conference Board of Canada's 2014 paper "Boosting Retirement Readiness and the Economy Through Financial Advice". It evaluates the impact of advice on individual savings, and the resulting positive effects on the Canadian economy.


Report on Responsible Investment

The report provides an overview of responsible investing (RI) in Canada and around the world, including terminology, financial performance and the future of RI.


2018
Advisor Insights Modest Investors – Easy Access and the Freedom to Choose are Keys to Successsful Long-term Investing (January 2018)

This issue of Advisor Insights contains data on the household assets of Canadian investors and provides insights on the difference that access to advice can make in their long-term savings.


2017
IFIC Pollara Investor Survey (November 2017)

The 12th wave of Pollara's telephone survey of mutual fund investors in Canada. The study was initiated to better understand Canadian mutual fund holders, to identify their attitudes, opinions, needs, expectations and behaviours and to track these over time.


Video: Safeguarding Access to Financial Advice for Canada’s Middle Class

Text: Safeguarding Access to Financial Advice for Canada's Middle Class (June 15, 2017)

Advice and the Modest Investor: A Canadian Perspective

Advisor Insights - Advice Creates Strong Value for Canadians

This document highlights findings from research studies that were completed in recent years showing that having a financial advisor offers significant benefits to Canadians and to our economy.


CIRANO - The Gamma Factor and the Value of Financial Advice – Summary of Findings

In August 2016, the Center for Interuniversity Research and Analysis of Organizations (CIRANO) released its latest publication by Claude Montmarquette and Nathalie Viennot-Briot examining the value of financial advice. This document provides a summary of findings.

Search
IFIC logo
La voix de l’industrie des fonds communs au Canada

Valeur des conseils

Les avantages des conseils financiers sont reconnus aujourd’hui. Des recherches indépendantes et des études universitaires confirment que les gens qui font affaire régulièrement avec un conseiller accumulent un patrimoine plus important. Ces investisseurs ont également de meilleures habitudes d’épargne et sont plus confiants dans leur capacité à répondre à leurs besoins de revenu de retraite.

Au Canada, les conseils sont facilement accessibles
parce que les principes de base des fonds d‘investissement – partage des coûts, des risques et des gains – s’appliquent aussi aux services des conseillers. Les investisseurs canadiens, même les nouveaux épargnants et ceux ayant de modestes sommes à investir, ont donc accès à des conseils à un coût moindre que les investisseurs de plusieurs autres pays.

En plus de ses propres rapports de recherche sur la valeur des conseils, l’IFIC propose des liens vers des recherches universitaires et internationales.



Documents

2018
Renseignements aux représentants: Petits investisseurs – L'acces facile et la liberte de choix sont essentiels a un investissement profitable a long terme (janvier 2018)

Le présent numéro du bulletin Renseignements aux représentants renferme des données sur les avoirs des ménages des investisseurs canadiens et sur la différence que peut avoir le fait d’avoir recours à des conseils en matière d’épargne à long terme.


2017
Sondage Pollara de l'IFIC sur les investisseurs (novembre 2017)

La 12e volet Pollara's d’étude téléphonique annuelle auprès des investisseurs en fonds communs de placement au Canada. L’étude a été entreprise pour mieux comprendre les attitudes et les opinions des détenteurs canadiens de fonds communs de placement; pour identifier leurs besoins, leurs attentes, leurs comportements et leurs opinions et en faire le suivi au fil du temps.


Vidéo : Protéger l’accès aux conseils financiers des Canadiens de la classe moyenne

IFIC President Calls for Choice and Access to Advice for Canadians

Texte : Protéger l’accès aux conseils financiers des Canadiens de la classe moyenne (15 juin 2017)

Les activités de conseil et le petit investisseur, sous l’angle du Canada

Fiche d’information Médias : Les conseils financiers : pour qui et pourquoi?

Renseignements aux représentants : Les conseils, source de valeursolide pour les Canadiens

Ce document met en évidence les résultats d’études de recherche qui ont été réalisées au cours des dernières années et démontre que d'avoir un conseiller financier offre des avantages importants pour les Canadiens et pour notre économie.


CIRANO - Le gamma et la valeurdes conseils financiers Résumé des constatations

En août 2016, le Centre interuniversitaire de recherche en analyse des organisations (CIRANO) a publié une étude de Claude Montmarquette et Nathalie Viennot-Briot sur la valeur des conseils financiers. Ce document fournit un résumé des constatations.


2016
Les investisseurs de fonds communs de placement reconnaissent la valeur des conseils financiers