Search
IFIC logo
The Voice of Canada’s Investment Funds Industry

Explaining Investment Fund Fees

With the recent arrival of CRM2, advisors may see an increased interest by investors in understanding the costs of their financial products and how those costs compare across products or with the costs in other countries. Of course, there are costs to owning any type of any financial product, be it insurance, a deposit account, securities or an investment fund. For mutual funds and ETFs, it’s important to know that the costs are fully disclosed and reported as a total amount, usually including the cost of advice, and net of returns, so the investor knows what the real return is and how much s/he is paying. Investors in other countries, such as the U.S., may have to tally up management costs, trading costs and advisor and other hidden costs and then try to calculate their returns.

We offer some tools to help explain costs to investors along with more detailed studies and reports from independent third parties on investment fees.



Documents

2018
Advisor Insights: Global Regulatory Developments in Investor Protection (May 2018)

This issue of Advisor Insights focuses on regulatory developments in 16 countries and is based on a research report that was updated in May 2018. It summarizes report findings in a number of areas, including expanded disclosure, targeted reforms, best interest standard and embedded commissions and includes key points for advisors to discuss with clients.


Your Guide To Investment Funds (Winter 2018)

Understand your investments and secure your future


Advisor Insights Modest Investors – Easy Access and the Freedom to Choose are Keys to Successsful Long-term Investing (January 2018)

This issue of Advisor Insights contains data on the household assets of Canadian investors and provides insights on the difference that access to advice can make in their long-term savings.


2017
"It's your money. Find out more." – A Toolkit for Dealers and Advisors (November 2017)

The Investment Funds Institute of Canada has created this toolkit to help advisors engage with clients about the new information investors will receive about the performance of their investments and the fees they paid to their dealer under the initiative known as “CRM2”. The materials in this toolkit were created to encourage investors to open their statements and read the new information.


Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about Services and Fees (November 2017)

This is part of a special three-part series of Advisor Insights. The series focuses on helping advisors have better conversations with their clients about their investments as the final stages of CRM2 are implemented. The other two bulletins in the series are: Advisor Insights: An Opportunity to Strengthen Your Relationships with Clients and Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about the Performance of their Investments.


Monitoring Trends in Mutual Fund Cost of Ownership and Expense Ratios: September 2017 Update

This report provides a comprehensive assessment of the full cost of owning mutual funds in Canada and the United States. 2017 update to the 2012 study by Strategic Insight.


Your Guide to Investment Funds – Winter 2017

Understand your investments and secure your future.


2016
New Infographic Helps Investors Understand What Services They Receive for Their Mutual Fund Fees

Infographic: Value for Your Mutual Fund Fees

This infographic highlights the services that retail investors receive for the fees that they pay through their purchase of mutual funds.


2015
Advisor Insights: The Real Cost of Owning Mutual Funds in Canada and the U.S.

Search
IFIC logo
La voix de l’industrie des fonds communs au Canada

Expliquer les frais liés aux fonds d’investissement

Avec l’arrivée récente du MRCC2, les représentants pourraient être témoins d’un intérêt accru de la part des investisseurs cherchant à comprendre les coûts associés à leurs produits financiers et comment ceux-ci se comparent aux coûts d’autres produits ou à ceux dans d’autres pays. Détenir un produit financier, que ce soit un produit d’assurance, un compte de dépôt, des valeurs mobilières ou un fonds d’investissement, comporte évidemment des coûts. En ce qui concerne les fonds mutuels et les FNB, il importe de savoir que les coûts sont entièrement divulgués et présentés sous forme de montant total, qui comprend habituellement le coût des services de conseil, déduction faite des rendements, de sorte que les investisseurs savent quel est le rendement réel et combien ils ont payé. Aux États-Unis par exemple, les investisseurs doivent parfois additionner les frais de gestion, les frais de négociation, les honoraires du conseiller et d’autres frais cachés pour pouvoir calculer leurs rendements.

Nous offrons des outils qui vous aideront à expliquer les coûts aux investisseurs ainsi que des études et rapports détaillés de tiers indépendants sur les frais de placement.



Documents

2018
Renseignements aux Représentants : Développements Réglementaires à l’échelle Mondiale (mai 2018)

Ce numéro des Renseignements aux représentants se concentre sur l'évolution de la réglementation dans 16 pays et s’appuie sur un rapport de recherche qui a été mis à jour en mai 2018. Il résume les conclusions du rapport dans un certain nombre de domaines, y compris la divulgation élargie, les réformes ciblées, la norme d’agir dans le meilleur intérêt du client, les commissions intégrées et comprend des points clés à l’intention des représentants pour discussion avec leurs clients.


Votre guide sure les fonds d'investissement (hiver 2018)

Comprendre vos investissements et securiser votre avenir


Renseignements aux représentants: Petits investisseurs – L'acces facile et la liberte de choix sont essentiels a un investissement profitable a long terme (janvier 2018)

Le présent numéro du bulletin Renseignements aux représentants renferme des données sur les avoirs des ménages des investisseurs canadiens et sur la différence que peut avoir le fait d’avoir recours à des conseils en matière d’épargne à long terme.


2017
"C’est votre argent. Informez-vous." - Boîte à outils pour les courtiers et les représentants

The Investment Funds Institute of Canada has created this toolkit to help advisors engage with clients about the new information investors will receive about the performance of their investments and the fees they paid to their dealer under the initiative known as “CRM2”. The materials in this toolkit were created to encourage investors to open their statements and read the new information.


Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant les services et les frais (novembre 2017)

Le présent document s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une série de trois bulletins spéciaux Renseignements aux représentants. Ceux-ci visent à aider les représentants à avoir de meilleurs entretiens avec les clients au sujet de leurs placements, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la dernière phase du MRCC2. Les deux autres bulletins de la série sont les suivants : Renseignements aux représentants : Une occasion de renforcer la relation avec vos clients et Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant le rendement de leurs placements.


Monitoring Trends in Mutual Fund Cost of Ownership and Expense Ratios: September 2017 Update

Ce rapport fournit une évaluation complète du coût total de détention de fonds communs de placement au Canada et aux États-Unis. Mise à jour de 2017 à l'étude de 2012 par Strategic Insight.


Votre guide sur les fonds d'investissement – Hiver 2017

Comprendre vos investissements et sécuriser votre avenir.


2016
Un nouveau document infographique qui aidera les investisseurs à comprendre les services qu’ils reçoivent en contrepartie des frais relatifs à leurs fonds communs de placement

Infographie : La valeur des frais que vous payez pour vos fonds communs de placement

Cette infographie souligne les services que les investisseurs reçoivent pour les frais qu’ils paient pour l’achat de fonds communs de placement.


2015
Renseignements aux représentants: Le coût de détention réel des fonds communs de placement au Canada et aux États-Unis