Search
IFIC logo
The Voice of Canada’s Investment Funds Industry

Financial Planning

Investors are best served when they know who they are dealing with and have confidence in the advice and level of service they can expect. Most financial representatives in Canada operate within a regulatory framework that ensures a high level of certainty and confidence for investors. For example, financial advisors in the mutual fund industry are well-regulated through self-regulatory organizations (SROs) such as the Mutual Fund Dealers Association, the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada, the Chambre de la sécurité financière, and provincial securities commissions.

Investors have less certainty and less protection when they receive financial planning services from providers operating outside of a regulatory or professional framework. The Ontario ministry of finance is investigating the merits of more tailored regulation of financial planners to address concerns in areas such as proficiency, quality standards and potential conflicts of interest.

IFIC supports further strengthening investor protection with legislation that would establish formal professional oversight of those financial planners who are not already being regulated by SROs or provincial securities commissions.



Documents

2016
IFIC Urges Ontario to Lead National Collaboration on Financial Planning Rules

IFIC Submission – Expert Committee – Financial Advisory and Financial Planning Alternatives (June 17, 2016)

2015
Investment Industry Calls for Regulation of All Financial Planners

Joint IFIC and IIAC Submission – Ministry of Finance – Consultation on Financial Advisory and Financial Planning Policy Alternatives (September 21, 2015)

2014
IFIC Submission - Ministry of Finance (Frank Allen) - Financial Planning Consultations - February 5, 2014

Search
IFIC logo
La voix de l’industrie des fonds communs au Canada

Planification financière

Les intérêts des investisseurs sont mieux servis lorsqu’ils savent à qui ils ont affaire et à quoi s’attendre en termes de conseil et de niveau de service. Au Canada, la plupart des représentants financiers exercent leurs activités conformément à un cadre réglementaire, qui assure un niveau élevé de certitude et de confiance pour les investisseurs. Par exemple, dans le secteur des fonds communs de placement, les activités des conseillers financiers sont encadrées par des organismes d’autoréglementation (OAR) comme l’Association canadienne des courtiers de fonds mutuels, l’Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières, la Chambre de la sécurité financière et les commissions des valeurs mobilières provinciales.

Le niveau de certitude et de protection des investisseurs diminue lorsqu’ils reçoivent des services de planification financière de la part de fournisseurs dont les activités ne sont pas régies par un cadre réglementaire ou professionnel. Actuellement, le Ministère des Finances de l’Ontario étudie la possibilité d’ajuster la réglementation applicable aux planificateurs financiers afin de répondre aux préoccupations dans des domaines comme la compétence, les normes de qualité et les éventuels conflits d’intérêts.

L’IFIC est en faveur d’un renforcement de la protection des investisseurs au moyen d’une loi qui pourrait établir une surveillance formelle (par des professionnels) des planificateurs financiers dont les activités ne sont pas déjà régies par des OAR ou les commissions de valeurs mobilières provinciales.



Documents

2016
IFIC Urges Ontario to Lead National Collaboration on Financial Planning Rules

IFIC Submission – Expert Committee – Financial Advisory and Financial Planning Alternatives (June 17, 2016)

2015
Investment Industry Calls for Regulation of All Financial Planners

Joint IFIC and IIAC Submission – Ministry of Finance – Consultation on Financial Advisory and Financial Planning Policy Alternatives (September 21, 2015)

2014
IFIC Submission - Ministry of Finance (Frank Allen) - Financial Planning Consultations - February 5, 2014