Search
IFIC logo
The Voice of Canada’s Investment Funds Industry

Retirement Security

Encouraging more Canadians to save more for retirement is a significant focus of government policymakers. Concern is being driven by a decline in traditional employer-sponsored plans, a perceived shortfall in individual savings targeted for retirement and current personal debt levels.

Typically, analyses of Canadians’ retirement readiness excludes non-pension assets, such as the family home or non-pension savings, and may be understating Canadians’ retirement-readiness. Nonetheless, new approaches to retirement savings are needed to ensure that tomorrow’s pensioners will be financially ready to handle projected longer lifespans.

The industry is committed to working with government to encourage employers to offer workplace pension plans by expanding the range of choices available to them. For example, it has identified measures that would enhance the pension-like properties of Group RRSPs.

Studies demonstrate that long-term use of financial advice results in better savings habits, higher asset accumulations and greater confidence when it comes to retirement readiness. IFIC believes that expanding individual Canadians’ access to advice should be a public policy priority and is advocating strongly for advice- options to be included within Pooled Registered Pension Plan (PRPP) product offerings.

Search
IFIC logo
La voix de l’industrie des fonds communs au Canada

Épargne-retraite

Encourager un plus grand nombre de Canadiens à épargner en vue de leur retraite est une priorité pour les décideurs gouvernementaux. La diminution du nombre de régimes d’employeur traditionnels, une épargne-retraite insuffisante et le niveau d’endettement actuel des particuliers suscitent des préoccupations.

En règle générale, les analyses effectuées sur la préparation à la retraite des Canadiens ne tiennent pas compte des biens détenus en dehors des régimes de retraite, comme la résidence familiale ou l’épargne constituée hors des régimes de retraite, et sous-estiment sans doute le niveau de préparation des Canadiens. Néanmoins, de nouvelles approches en matière d’épargne-retraite sont nécessaires afin que les retraités de demain soient préparés financièrement pour faire face à la plus grande longévité qui les attend.

Le secteur s’engage à collaborer avec le gouvernement pour encourager les employeurs à proposer des régimes de retraite en élargissant l’éventail des options qui leur sont offertes. Par exemple, il a défini des mesures qui permettraient d’améliorer les caractéristiques des REER collectifs qui s’apparentent à celles des régimes de retraite.

Selon des études, le recours à des conseils financiers sur le long terme se traduit par de meilleures habitudes d’épargne, la constitution d’un patrimoine plus important et une confiance accrue en ce qui a trait à la préparation à la retraite. L’IFIC croit que l’amélioration de l’accès des Canadiens aux services de conseils devrait être une priorité de la politique publique et recommande vivement que des options de services de conseils soient ajoutées aux régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC).