Search
IFIC logo
The Voice of Canada’s Investment Funds Industry

Point of Sale

The Canadian Securities Administrators’ POS Project grew out of an increasing awareness by industry and regulators that investors found prospectus documents intimidating in length and difficult to understand. In 2010, after several years of consultation and research, the CSA published a framework for introducing a new, concise, plain language document – Fund Facts.

Fund Facts is designed to give investors key information about a mutual fund, in language they can easily understand and at a time that is relevant to their investment decision. The CSA mandates the contents and format of the Fund Facts document so that investors can easily compare information across a range of funds. The industry welcomes the new Fund Facts document as a vital step forward in helping to develop better informed and more financially literate investors.

The new framework is being implemented in three stages:

  • Effective January 1, 2011, mutual funds companies were required to prepare and file a Fund Facts for each class or series of each of their mutual funds and to post the Fund Facts to their website.
  • Effective June 13, 2014, mutual funds companies will be required to deliver the Fund Facts within two days of an investor’s purchase of a conventional mutual fund.
  • The prospectus for a mutual fund will continue to be available to investors upon request.


Documents

2016
MFDA and IFIC Help Inform Investors about Upcoming Changes when Purchasing Mutual Funds

2010
Submission to FSCO - Statement of Priorities (May 17, 2010)

Submission to CSA (POS Working Group) - CESR Risk Disclosure Methodology (February 26, 2010)



Stage 1 - Fund Facts

Stage 1 of the POS Project was completed on October 6, 2010 when the CSA published amendments to National Instrument 81-101 Mutual Fund Prospectus Disclosure to require the preparation, filing and posting of the Fund Facts.

2013
Submission to Joint Forum - Consultative Document on Point of Sale disclosure in the insurance, banking and securities sectors


Stage 2 - Delivery

Stage 2 of the POS Project was completed on June 13, 2013 with the publication of final amendments to the Fund Facts form.

This stage included the implementation of a process to deliver the Fund Facts, satisfying securities requirements to provide an investor with a prospectus within two days of buying a mutual fund.

The amendments are being phased in over 12 months.

2012
Submission to CSA on Stage 2 Point of Sale Dislcosure for Mutual Funds (August 31 2012)


Stage 3 - Timing

Under stage 3 of the POS Project, the Fund Facts would be provided to the investor at the point of sale for mutual funds. Significant issues for the industry include the potential requirement for pre-delivery of Fund Facts and acceptable delivery methods. IFIC and the industry will be working to secure the flexibility necessary for investors to make timely and informed decisions. In Stage 3, the CSA will also consider the applicability of a summary disclosure document and point of sale delivery for other types of publicly-offered investment funds, including ETFs. IFIC has consistently argued that disclosure rules should be applied as broadly as possible.

2016
Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts – Plain Language Description for Investors

This document is a Word version of the plain language content developed by the MFDA and IFIC for a statement insert (see below) to inform investors about the requirement (as of May 30, 2016) for dealers to deliver Fund Facts to clients before the purchase of a mutual fund. Firms are welcome to use this content in their communications with investors.


Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts

IFIC and the Mutual Funds Dealers Association (MFDA) have collaborated to produce a statement insert to help the mutual funds industry inform investors about the upcoming requirement for dealers to deliver Fund Facts to clients before they purchase a mutual fund.


Statement Insert Notifying Investors about Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts

IFIC encourages dealers to include the insert with their clients’ quarterly statements or to provide it to investors in some other way. Managers can participate by sending it with trade confirmations and posting it online. A version with crop-marks is available for dealers, managers or their suppliers to download and print. For more information, refer to the document Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts.


Statement Insert Notifying Investors about Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts – For External Printing

IFIC encourages dealers to include the insert with their clients’ quarterly statements or to provide it to investors in some other way. Managers can participate by sending it with trade confirmations and posting it online. IFIC would be interested in knowing which firms decide to pursue this initiative and the quantities that are distributed. For more information, refer to the document Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts.


2014
IFIC Submission to the CSA on the Implementation of Stage 3 Point of Sale Disclosure for Mutual Funds (May 26, 2014)

Search
IFIC logo
La voix de l’industrie des fonds communs au Canada

Information au moment de la souscription

Le projet de régime d’information au moment de la souscription des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières (ACVM) a vu le jour lorsque le secteur et les organismes de réglementation se sont rendu compte que les investisseurs trouvaient les prospectus trop longs et trop difficiles à comprendre. En 2010, après plusieurs années de consultations et de recherches, les ACVM ont publié un cadre en vue de l’adoption d’un nouveau document concis en langage simple : l’aperçu du fonds.

L’aperçu du fonds est conçu pour fournir aux investisseurs des renseignements essentiels sur un fonds commun de placement, dans un langage simple, au moment où ils en ont besoin pour prendre une décision de placement. Les ACVM déterminent le contenu et le format de l’aperçu du fonds pour que les investisseurs puissent comparer facilement les renseignements au sein d’une même gamme de fonds. Le secteur a bien accueilli ce nouveau document, considérant qu’il s’agit d’une étape cruciale pour mieux informer les investisseurs.

Le nouveau cadre est mis en œuvre en trois phases.

  • Depuis le 1er janvier 2011, les organismes de placement collectif sont tenus de préparer et de déposer un aperçu de chacun de leurs fonds pour toutes les catégories ou séries et de l’afficher sur leur site Web.
  • À partir du 13 juin 2014, ils devront fournir aux investisseurs l’aperçu du fonds dans les deux jours suivant la souscription des parts d’un fonds commun de placement traditionnel.
  • Les prospectus des fonds communs de placement seront fournis sur demande.


Documents

2016
L’ACFM et l’IFIC contribuent informer les investisseurs des changements à venir touchant l’information à transmettre au moment de l’achat de fonds communs de placement

2010
Submission to FSCO – Statement of Priorities (May 17, 2010)

Submission to CSA (POS Working Group) – CESR Risk Disclosure Methodology (February 26, 2010)



Phase 1 – Aperçu du fonds

La première phase du projet de régime d’information a pris fin le 6 octobre 2010 lorsque les ACVM ont publié les modifications du Règlement 81-101 sur le régime de prospectus des organismes de placement collectif afin d’exiger la préparation, le dépôt et l’affichage de l’aperçu du fonds.

2013
Submission to Joint Forum – Consultative Document on Point of Sale disclosure in the insurance, banking and securities sectors


Phase 2 – Transmission

La deuxième phase du projet s’est terminée le 13 juin 2013 avec la publication des modifications definitive du formulaire de l’aperçu du fonds.

Cette phase comprenait la mise en œuvre d’un processus de transmission de l’aperçu du fonds, afin de satisfaire à l’obligation de fournir à un investisseur un prospectus dans les deux jours suivant la souscription des parts d’un fonds commun de placement.

Les modifications sont mises en œuvre de façon graduelle sur une période de 12 mois.

2012
Submission to CSA on Stage 2 Point of Sale Dislcosure for Mutual Funds (August 31 2012)


Phase 3 – Moment de la transmission

Au cours de la troisième phase, l’aperçu du fonds sera remis à l’investisseur au moment de la souscription des parts d’un fonds commun de placement. Pour le secteur, plusieurs aspects sont préoccupants, notamment une exigence éventuelle relative à la transmission anticipée de l’aperçu du fonds ainsi que les modes de transmission acceptables. L’IFIC et le secteur veilleront à ce que les investisseurs disposent de la souplesse nécessaire pour pouvoir prendre des décisions opportunes et éclairées. À la troisième phase, les ACVM examineront la possibilité d’appliquer les obligations relativement à un document d’information sommaire et à la transmission de l’information au moment de la souscription à d’autres types de fonds d’investissement offerts au public, notamment les fonds cotés en bourse. L’IFIC a toujours soutenu que les règles d’information devraient être appliquées aussi largement que possible.

2016
Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription – Description en langage simple pour les investisseurs

Le présent document est la version Word d’un encart rédigé en langage simple par l’ACCFM et l’IFIC (voir ci-dessous) dans le but d’informer les investisseurs qu’à compter du 30 mai 2016, les courtiers seront tenus de fournir un aperçu du fonds aux clients avant l’achat d’un fonds commun de placement. Les sociétés sont invitées à utiliser le contenu du présent document dans leurs communications avec les investisseurs.


Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription

L’IFIC, en collaboration avec l’Association canadienne des courtiers de fonds mutuels (ACCFM), a conçu un encart à joindre aux relevés pour aider le secteur des fonds communs de placement à faire connaître l’exigence à venir qui obligera les courtiers à transmettre l’Aperçu du fonds aux clients avant la vente d’un fonds commun de placement.


Encart pour les relevés aviser les investisseurs par rapport la transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription

L’IFIC encourage les courtiers à le joindre aux relevés trimestriels de leurs clients ou à les transmettre aux investisseurs d’une autre façon. Les gestionnaires peuvent participer en envoyant avec les confirmations d'opérations et de le mettre en ligne. Une version avec traits de coupes est disponible pour les courtiers, gestionnaires, ou ses fournisseurs pour télécharger ou imprimer. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le document Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription.


Encart pour les relevés aviser les investisseurs par rapport la Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription – pour l’impression externe

L’IFIC encourage les courtiers à le joindre aux relevés trimestriels de leurs clients ou à les transmettre aux investisseurs d’une autre façon. Les gestionnaires peuvent participer en envoyant avec les confirmations d'opérations et de le mettre en ligne. L’IFIC aimerait savoir quelles sont les sociétés qui décident de participer à l’initiative et de connaître les quantités d’encarts distribués. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le document Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription.


2014
IFIC Submission to the CSA on the Implementation of Stage 3 Point of Sale Disclosure for Mutual Funds (May 26, 2014)