Search
IFIC logo
The Voice of Canada’s Investment Funds Industry

Performance Reporting & Cost Disclosure

The investment funds industry supports recent regulatory initiatives that provide investors with important information before and after they purchase their investments.

Now that CRM2 is fully implemented, investors know, in dollar amounts, all of the costs associated with their accounts. On the performance side, they see how well their investments have performed in dollar terms and their percentage rate of return over several time periods.

CRM2 is expected to strengthen investors’ understanding of their investments and their confidence to make sound decisions.

IFIC is encouraging its members, and the industry generally, to adopt consistent investor-friendly language in their all their materials. IFIC has created an inventory of plain language materials that can be shared broadly to help advisors inform their clients.

We continue to work closely with our members and regulators on all aspects of implementation.



Documents

2018
Advisor Insights: Global Regulatory Developments in Investor Protection (May 2018)

This issue of Advisor Insights focuses on regulatory developments in 16 countries and is based on a research report that was updated in May 2018. It summarizes report findings in a number of areas, including expanded disclosure, targeted reforms, best interest standard and embedded commissions and includes key points for advisors to discuss with clients.


Your Guide To Investment Funds (Winter 2018)

Understand your investments and secure your future


Advisor Insights Modest Investors – Easy Access and the Freedom to Choose are Keys to Successsful Long-term Investing (January 2018)

This issue of Advisor Insights contains data on the household assets of Canadian investors and provides insights on the difference that access to advice can make in their long-term savings.


2017
"It's your money. Find out more." – A Toolkit for Dealers and Advisors (November 2017)

The Investment Funds Institute of Canada has created this toolkit to help advisors engage with clients about the new information investors will receive about the performance of their investments and the fees they paid to their dealer under the initiative known as “CRM2”. The materials in this toolkit were created to encourage investors to open their statements and read the new information.


Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about the Performance of their Investments (November 2017)

This is part of a special three-part series of Advisor Insights. The series focuses on helping advisors have better conversations with their clients about their investments as the final stages of CRM2 are implemented. The other two bulletins in the series are: Advisor Insights: An Opportunity to Strengthen Your Relationships with Clients and Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about Services and Fees.


Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about Services and Fees (November 2017)

This is part of a special three-part series of Advisor Insights. The series focuses on helping advisors have better conversations with their clients about their investments as the final stages of CRM2 are implemented. The other two bulletins in the series are: Advisor Insights: An Opportunity to Strengthen Your Relationships with Clients and Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about the Performance of their Investments.


Advisor Insights: An Opportunity to Strengthen Your Relationships with Clients (November 2017)

This is part of a special three-part series of Advisor Insights that focuses on helping advisors have better conversations with their clients about their investments as the final stages of CRM2 are implemented. The other two bulletins in the series are: Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about the Performance of their Investments and Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about Services and Fees.


Your Guide to Investment Funds – Winter 2017

Understand your investments and secure your future.


2016
New Infographic Helps Investors Understand What Services They Receive for Their Mutual Fund Fees

Preparing CRM2 Reports for Your Clients: A Guide for Dealers

This guide provides details of key requirements for the two new reports required in the final phase of CRM2, along with practical tips on how to ensure your reports achieve regulatory goals while strengthening the investor-advisor relationship.

Search
IFIC logo
La voix de l’industrie des fonds communs au Canada

Information sur le rendement et les frais

Le secteur des fonds d’investissement soutient les récentes initiatives réglementaires qui feront en sorte que les investisseurs recevront des renseignements importants avant et après l’achat de leurs placements.

Maintenant que MRCC2 est entièrement mis en place, les investisseurs connaissent le montant, en dollars, de tous les coûts associés à leurs comptes. En ce qui concerne le rendement, ils voient comment leurs placements se sont comportés, en dollars, et leur taux de rendement en pourcentage sur plusieurs périodes.

MRCC2 devrait permettre aux investisseurs d’acquérir une meilleure compréhension de leurs placements et de rehausser leur confiance quant à leur capacité à prendre des décisions éclairées.

L’IFIC incite ses membres et l’ensemble du secteur à utiliser un langage cohérent et facile à comprendre pour les investisseurs dans tous leurs documents. L’IFIC a rédigé des documents en langage simple qui sont mis à la disposition de tous afin d’aider les conseillers à informer leurs clients.

Nous continuons de travailler étroitement avec nos membres et les organismes de réglementation sur tous les aspects de la mise en oeuvre.



Documents

2018
Renseignements aux Représentants : Développements Réglementaires à l’échelle Mondiale (mai 2018)

Ce numéro des Renseignements aux représentants se concentre sur l'évolution de la réglementation dans 16 pays et s’appuie sur un rapport de recherche qui a été mis à jour en mai 2018. Il résume les conclusions du rapport dans un certain nombre de domaines, y compris la divulgation élargie, les réformes ciblées, la norme d’agir dans le meilleur intérêt du client, les commissions intégrées et comprend des points clés à l’intention des représentants pour discussion avec leurs clients.


Votre guide sure les fonds d'investissement (hiver 2018)

Comprendre vos investissements et securiser votre avenir


Renseignements aux représentants: Petits investisseurs – L'acces facile et la liberte de choix sont essentiels a un investissement profitable a long terme (janvier 2018)

Le présent numéro du bulletin Renseignements aux représentants renferme des données sur les avoirs des ménages des investisseurs canadiens et sur la différence que peut avoir le fait d’avoir recours à des conseils en matière d’épargne à long terme.


2017
"C’est votre argent. Informez-vous." - Boîte à outils pour les courtiers et les représentants

The Investment Funds Institute of Canada has created this toolkit to help advisors engage with clients about the new information investors will receive about the performance of their investments and the fees they paid to their dealer under the initiative known as “CRM2”. The materials in this toolkit were created to encourage investors to open their statements and read the new information.


Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant le rendement de leurs placements (novembre 2017)

Le présent document s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une série de trois bulletins spéciaux Renseignements aux représentants. Ceux-ci visent à aider les représentants à avoir de meilleurs entretiens avec les clients au sujet de leurs placements, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la dernière phase du MRCC2. Les deux autres bulletins de la série sont les suivants : Renseignements aux représentants : Une occasion de renforcer la relation avec vos clients et Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant les services et les frais.


Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant les services et les frais (novembre 2017)

Le présent document s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une série de trois bulletins spéciaux Renseignements aux représentants. Ceux-ci visent à aider les représentants à avoir de meilleurs entretiens avec les clients au sujet de leurs placements, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la dernière phase du MRCC2. Les deux autres bulletins de la série sont les suivants : Renseignements aux représentants : Une occasion de renforcer la relation avec vos clients et Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant le rendement de leurs placements.


Renseignements aux représentants : Une occasion de renforcer la relation avec vos clients (novembre 2017)

Le présent document s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une série de trois bulletins spéciaux Renseignements aux représentants, qui visent à aider les représentants à avoir de meilleurs entretiens avec les clients au sujet de leurs placements, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la dernière phase du MRCC2. Les deux autres bulletins de la série sont les suivants : Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant le rendement de leurs placements et Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant les services et les frais.


Votre guide sur les fonds d'investissement – Hiver 2017

Comprendre vos investissements et sécuriser votre avenir.


2016
Un nouveau document infographique qui aidera les investisseurs à comprendre les services qu’ils reçoivent en contrepartie des frais relatifs à leurs fonds communs de placement

La préparation de rapports conformes au MRCC2 pour vos clients : guide à l’intention des courtiers

Ce guide à l’intention des courtiers présente les principales exigences applicables aux deux nouveaux rapports requis pour la dernière phase du MRCC2, de même que des conseils pratiques qui vous permettront de veiller à ce que vos rapports réalisent les objectifs réglementaires tout en renforçant la relation client-conseiller.