Search
IFIC logo
The Voice of Canada’s Investment Funds Industry

Global/US Regulatory Topics

As the financial services marketplace becomes more global, international standards-setting bodies, such as the International Organisation of Securities Commissions (IOSCO), Financial Stability Board (FSB), International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development (OECD), are attempting to align rules and requirements across nations. While for the most part, countries may choose whether to conform, regulators around the world are under increasing pressure to adopt uniform rules.

Canada can pride itself on having one of the world’s most stringent regulatory regimes, one that is uniquely appropriate for our marketplace.

IFIC believes that domestic application of global standards must reflect and support local conditions. Through participation in international bodies such as the International Investment Funds Association (IIFA), IFIC monitors global trends and represents Canada’s interests.

At the same time, IFIC is increasingly engaging in issues arising from efforts by foreign governments to extend their extraterritorial reach.

U.S. tax initiatives such as the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA), and Passive Foreign Investment Company (PFIC) rules potentially harm the ability of American mutual fund investors residing in Canada to save for their retirement by imposing onerous levels of taxation, and creating substantial compliance costs for Canadian mutual fund firms.

IFIC enlists the support of Canadian officials for its direct efforts to exempt Americans residing in Canada from these U.S. tax policies. Other governments, such as France, are launching similar attempts to capture taxes from their citizens who are holding financial accounts in Canada.



Documents

2010
Submission to Organization for Economic Development and Trade - Tax Treaty Benefits Associated with Collective Investment Units (January 31, 2010)



FATCA/CRS

2011
Submission to IRS - IFIC’s FATCA Letter Pertaining to Notice 2011-34 (June 7, 2011)

2010
Submission to U.S. Government (Treasury and IRS) – Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) Notice 2010-60 (November 1, 2010)

Submission to U.S. Government - Request for Relief from Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) (June 23, 2010)

2009
Submission to U.S. Government - Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act, 2009 (November 19, 2009)


Market Turmoil


PFIC

Search
IFIC logo
La voix de l’industrie des fonds communs au Canada

Réglementation américaine et mondiale

Compte tenu de la mondialisation du marché des services financiers, les organismes internationaux de normalisation, comme l’Organisation internationale des commissions de valeurs (OICV), le Conseil de stabilité financière (CSF), le Conseil des normes comptables internationales (CNCI) et l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), tentent d’harmoniser les règles et les exigences entre les pays. Ils font face à des pressions grandissantes en faveur de l’adoption de règles uniformes même si les pays peuvent généralement choisir de s’y conformer ou non.

Le Canada peut s’enorgueillir d’avoir un régime de réglementation parmi les plus rigoureux au monde et qui est adapté à son marché.

L’IFIC croit que l’application nationale de normes mondiales doit se faire en tenant compte de la situation locale et soutenir celle-ci. En participant aux organismes internationaux, dont l’Association internationale des fonds d’investissement (AIFI), l’IFIC suit l’évolution des tendances mondiales et défend les intérêts du Canada.

Parallèlement, l’IFIC participe de plus en plus aux discussions sur les problèmes découlant des efforts déployés par les gouvernements étrangers pour étendre leur portée au-delà de leurs frontières.

Les initiatives fiscales américaines comme la Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) et les règles sur les sociétés de placement étrangères passives (Passive Foreign Investment Company [PFIC]) peuvent empêcher les Américains qui vivent au Canada et qui investissent dans des fonds communs de placement d’épargner en vue de leur retraite, en raison des niveaux d’imposition élevés et des coûts de conformité substantiels que doivent assumer les sociétés canadiennes de fonds communs de placement.

L’IFIC s’assure du soutien des autorités canadiennes dans les efforts qu’il déploie pour soustraire les Américains vivant au Canada à ces politiques fiscales. D’autres gouvernements, notamment la France, tentent aussi de percevoir un impôt de leurs citoyens qui détiennent des comptes financiers au Canada.



Documents

2010
Submission to Organization for Economic Development and Trade – Tax Treaty Benefits Associated with Collective Investment Units (January 31, 2010)



FATCA/NCD

2011
Submission to IRS – IFIC’s FATCA Letter Pertaining to Notice 2011-34 (June 7, 2011)

2010
Submission to U.S. Government (Treasury and IRS) – Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) Notice 2010-60 (November 1, 2010)

Submission to U.S. Government – Request for Relief from Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) (June 23, 2010)

2009
Submission to U.S. Government – Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act, 2009 (November 19, 2009)


Turbulence sur les marchés


PFIC