Search
IFIC logo
The Voice of Canada’s Investment Funds Industry

Performance Reporting & Cost Disclosure

The investment funds industry supports recent regulatory initiatives that provide investors with important information before and after they purchase their investments.

Now that CRM2 is fully implemented, investors know, in dollar amounts, all of the costs associated with their accounts. On the performance side, they see how well their investments have performed in dollar terms and their percentage rate of return over several time periods.

CRM2 is expected to strengthen investors’ understanding of their investments and their confidence to make sound decisions.

IFIC is encouraging its members, and the industry generally, to adopt consistent investor-friendly language in their all their materials. IFIC has created an inventory of plain language materials that can be shared broadly to help advisors inform their clients.

We continue to work closely with our members and regulators on all aspects of implementation.

Related Documents

Advisor Insights: Global Regulatory Developments in Investor Protection (May 2018)

This issue of Advisor Insights focuses on regulatory developments in 16 countries and is based on a research report that was updated in May 2018. It summarizes report findings in a number of areas, including expanded disclosure, targeted reforms, best interest standard and embedded commissions and includes key points for advisors to discuss with clients.

(May 31, 2018)

Your Guide To Investment Funds (Winter 2018)

Understand your investments and secure your future

(January 31, 2018)

Advisor Insights Modest Investors – Easy Access and the Freedom to Choose are Keys to Successsful Long-term Investing (January 2018)

This issue of Advisor Insights contains data on the household assets of Canadian investors and provides insights on the difference that access to advice can make in their long-term savings.

(January 31, 2018)

"It's your money. Find out more." – A Toolkit for Dealers and Advisors (November 2017)

The Investment Funds Institute of Canada has created this toolkit to help advisors engage with clients about the new information investors will receive about the performance of their investments and the fees they paid to their dealer under the initiative known as “CRM2”. The materials in this toolkit were created to encourage investors to open their statements and read the new information.

(November 27, 2017)

Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about the Performance of their Investments (November 2017)

This is part of a special three-part series of Advisor Insights. The series focuses on helping advisors have better conversations with their clients about their investments as the final stages of CRM2 are implemented. The other two bulletins in the series are: Advisor Insights: An Opportunity to Strengthen Your Relationships with Clients and Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about Services and Fees.

(November 27, 2017)

Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about Services and Fees (November 2017)

This is part of a special three-part series of Advisor Insights. The series focuses on helping advisors have better conversations with their clients about their investments as the final stages of CRM2 are implemented. The other two bulletins in the series are: Advisor Insights: An Opportunity to Strengthen Your Relationships with Clients and Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about the Performance of their Investments.

(November 27, 2017)

Advisor Insights: An Opportunity to Strengthen Your Relationships with Clients (November 2017)

This is part of a special three-part series of Advisor Insights that focuses on helping advisors have better conversations with their clients about their investments as the final stages of CRM2 are implemented. The other two bulletins in the series are: Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about the Performance of their Investments and Advisor Insights: Answering Your Clients’ Questions about Services and Fees.

(November 27, 2017)

Your Guide to Investment Funds – Winter 2017

Understand your investments and secure your future.

(January 30, 2017)

Preparing CRM2 Reports for Your Clients: A Guide for Dealers

This guide provides details of key requirements for the two new reports required in the final phase of CRM2, along with practical tips on how to ensure your reports achieve regulatory goals while strengthening the investor-advisor relationship.

(June 23, 2016)

Continuing Education Module on CRM2 Requirements

This online course, available free of charge, is offered by IFSE Institute (the educational arm of IFIC) to teach financial advisors about disclosure requirements and advisor obligations under CRM2. The course is designed for investment dealers, mutual fund dealers, exempt market dealers and their representatives.

(May 25, 2016)

Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts – Plain Language Description for Investors

This document is a Word version of the plain language content developed by the MFDA and IFIC for a statement insert (see below) to inform investors about the requirement (as of May 30, 2016) for dealers to deliver Fund Facts to clients before the purchase of a mutual fund. Firms are welcome to use this content in their communications with investors.

(February 26, 2016)

Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts

IFIC and the Mutual Funds Dealers Association (MFDA) have collaborated to produce a statement insert to help the mutual funds industry inform investors about the upcoming requirement for dealers to deliver Fund Facts to clients before they purchase a mutual fund.

(February 25, 2016)

Statement Insert Notifying Investors about Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts

IFIC encourages dealers to include the insert with their clients’ quarterly statements or to provide it to investors in some other way. Managers can participate by sending it with trade confirmations and posting it online. A version with crop-marks is available for dealers, managers or their suppliers to download and print. For more information, refer to the document Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts.

(February 25, 2016)

Statement Insert Notifying Investors about Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts – For External Printing

IFIC encourages dealers to include the insert with their clients’ quarterly statements or to provide it to investors in some other way. Managers can participate by sending it with trade confirmations and posting it online. IFIC would be interested in knowing which firms decide to pursue this initiative and the quantities that are distributed. For more information, refer to the document Pre-Sale Delivery of Fund Facts.

(February 25, 2016)

Globe and Mail Investment Funds Supplement (February 11, 2016)
(February 19, 2016)

CRM2 Spotlight: Considerations for Dealers

This bulletin outlines direction provided by the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) and the Mutual Fund Dealers Association (MFDA ) to assist dealers in meeting various requirements of CRM2. It focuses on three areas: the application of CRM2 to investments that are not securities, such as segregated fund contracts, annuities and GICs; transfer payments from affiliates; and referral fees.

(January 8, 2016)

Dealer Checklist: CRM2 – 2015 Requirements (updated November 2015)

Outlines new information that dealers must include on clients’ account statements as of December 31, 2015, and provides insights and practical information to help dealers meet these requirement.

(November 27, 2015)

Advisor Insights – CRM2 Myths and Facts

This fact sheet focuses on frequent factual errors observed in media coverage about the timing and content of CRM2 reporting requirements. It has been prepared to provide advisors with accurate information about key aspects of CRM2. The same information has been provided to journalists in an effort to improve the accuracy of media coverage.

(July 22, 2015)

Mapping Fees into the Model Report on Charges and Compensation (April 16, 2015)

This document maps FundSERV Standards Files with lines on IFIC’s Model Report on Charges and Compensation so that all dealers can consistently record their costs in their charges and compensation reports.

(April 16, 2015)

Model Report on Investment Performance: CRM2 – 2016 Requirement (April 13, 2015)

The raw template prepared by the regulators has been enhanced with simplified language, and easy-to-follow layouts to improve investor understanding. Dealers can meet the requirements of CRM2 by providing separate reports or by integrating the information into their quarterly account statements once per year. The Model Report on Investment Performance was reviewed by staff at the Mutual Fund Dealers Association and their comments were incorporated. See IFIC’s guide “Preparing CRM2 Reports for Your Clients” for insights on preparing these reports.

(April 10, 2015)

Related Media Releases

Media Release signup – promo module

Register to receive news releases

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Search
IFIC logo
La voix de l’industrie des fonds communs au Canada

Information sur le rendement et les frais

Le secteur des fonds d’investissement soutient les récentes initiatives réglementaires qui feront en sorte que les investisseurs recevront des renseignements importants avant et après l’achat de leurs placements.

Maintenant que MRCC2 est entièrement mis en place, les investisseurs connaissent le montant, en dollars, de tous les coûts associés à leurs comptes. En ce qui concerne le rendement, ils voient comment leurs placements se sont comportés, en dollars, et leur taux de rendement en pourcentage sur plusieurs périodes.

MRCC2 devrait permettre aux investisseurs d’acquérir une meilleure compréhension de leurs placements et de rehausser leur confiance quant à leur capacité à prendre des décisions éclairées.

L’IFIC incite ses membres et l’ensemble du secteur à utiliser un langage cohérent et facile à comprendre pour les investisseurs dans tous leurs documents. L’IFIC a rédigé des documents en langage simple qui sont mis à la disposition de tous afin d’aider les conseillers à informer leurs clients.

Nous continuons de travailler étroitement avec nos membres et les organismes de réglementation sur tous les aspects de la mise en oeuvre.

Documents connexes

Votre guide sur les fonds d’investissement 2019

Informations utiles pour chaque étape de votre parcours financier

(30 janvier 2019)

Renseignements aux Représentants : Développements Réglementaires à l’échelle Mondiale (mai 2018)

Ce numéro des Renseignements aux représentants se concentre sur l'évolution de la réglementation dans 16 pays et s’appuie sur un rapport de recherche qui a été mis à jour en mai 2018. Il résume les conclusions du rapport dans un certain nombre de domaines, y compris la divulgation élargie, les réformes ciblées, la norme d’agir dans le meilleur intérêt du client, les commissions intégrées et comprend des points clés à l’intention des représentants pour discussion avec leurs clients.

(31 mai 2018)

Votre guide sure les fonds d'investissement (hiver 2018)

Comprendre vos investissements et securiser votre avenir

(31 janvier 2018)

Renseignements aux représentants: Petits investisseurs – L'acces facile et la liberte de choix sont essentiels a un investissement profitable a long terme (janvier 2018)

Le présent numéro du bulletin Renseignements aux représentants renferme des données sur les avoirs des ménages des investisseurs canadiens et sur la différence que peut avoir le fait d’avoir recours à des conseils en matière d’épargne à long terme.

(31 janvier 2018)

"C’est votre argent. Informez-vous." - Boîte à outils pour les courtiers et les représentants

The Investment Funds Institute of Canada has created this toolkit to help advisors engage with clients about the new information investors will receive about the performance of their investments and the fees they paid to their dealer under the initiative known as “CRM2”. The materials in this toolkit were created to encourage investors to open their statements and read the new information.

(27 novembre 2017)

Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant le rendement de leurs placements (novembre 2017)

Le présent document s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une série de trois bulletins spéciaux Renseignements aux représentants. Ceux-ci visent à aider les représentants à avoir de meilleurs entretiens avec les clients au sujet de leurs placements, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la dernière phase du MRCC2. Les deux autres bulletins de la série sont les suivants : Renseignements aux représentants : Une occasion de renforcer la relation avec vos clients et Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant les services et les frais.

(27 novembre 2017)

Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant les services et les frais (novembre 2017)

Le présent document s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une série de trois bulletins spéciaux Renseignements aux représentants. Ceux-ci visent à aider les représentants à avoir de meilleurs entretiens avec les clients au sujet de leurs placements, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la dernière phase du MRCC2. Les deux autres bulletins de la série sont les suivants : Renseignements aux représentants : Une occasion de renforcer la relation avec vos clients et Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant le rendement de leurs placements.

(27 novembre 2017)

Renseignements aux représentants : Une occasion de renforcer la relation avec vos clients (novembre 2017)

Le présent document s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une série de trois bulletins spéciaux Renseignements aux représentants, qui visent à aider les représentants à avoir de meilleurs entretiens avec les clients au sujet de leurs placements, dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la dernière phase du MRCC2. Les deux autres bulletins de la série sont les suivants : Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant le rendement de leurs placements et Renseignements aux représentants : Répondre aux questions des clients concernant les services et les frais.

(27 novembre 2017)

Votre guide sur les fonds d'investissement – Hiver 2017

Comprendre vos investissements et sécuriser votre avenir.

(30 janvier 2017)

La préparation de rapports conformes au MRCC2 pour vos clients : guide à l’intention des courtiers

Ce guide à l’intention des courtiers présente les principales exigences applicables aux deux nouveaux rapports requis pour la dernière phase du MRCC2, de même que des conseils pratiques qui vous permettront de veiller à ce que vos rapports réalisent les objectifs réglementaires tout en renforçant la relation client-conseiller.

(23 juin 2016)

Module de formation continue sur le MRCC2

Ce cours en ligne est offert gratuitement par l’IFSE (la division éducative de l’IFIC) pour éduquer les conseillers financiers sur les exigences en matière de divulgation de l’information et les obligations des conseillers en vertu du MRCC. Il s’adresse aux courtiers en valeurs mobilières, aux courtiers de fonds communs de placement, aux courtiers sur le marché dispensé ainsi qu’à leurs représentants.

(25 mai 2016)

Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription – Description en langage simple pour les investisseurs

Le présent document est la version Word d’un encart rédigé en langage simple par l’ACCFM et l’IFIC (voir ci-dessous) dans le but d’informer les investisseurs qu’à compter du 30 mai 2016, les courtiers seront tenus de fournir un aperçu du fonds aux clients avant l’achat d’un fonds commun de placement. Les sociétés sont invitées à utiliser le contenu du présent document dans leurs communications avec les investisseurs.

(26 février 2016)

Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription

L’IFIC, en collaboration avec l’Association canadienne des courtiers de fonds mutuels (ACCFM), a conçu un encart à joindre aux relevés pour aider le secteur des fonds communs de placement à faire connaître l’exigence à venir qui obligera les courtiers à transmettre l’Aperçu du fonds aux clients avant la vente d’un fonds commun de placement.

(25 février 2016)

Encart pour les relevés aviser les investisseurs par rapport la transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription

L’IFIC encourage les courtiers à le joindre aux relevés trimestriels de leurs clients ou à les transmettre aux investisseurs d’une autre façon. Les gestionnaires peuvent participer en envoyant avec les confirmations d'opérations et de le mettre en ligne. Une version avec traits de coupes est disponible pour les courtiers, gestionnaires, ou ses fournisseurs pour télécharger ou imprimer. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le document Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription.

(25 février 2016)

Encart pour les relevés aviser les investisseurs par rapport la Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription – pour l’impression externe

L’IFIC encourage les courtiers à le joindre aux relevés trimestriels de leurs clients ou à les transmettre aux investisseurs d’une autre façon. Les gestionnaires peuvent participer en envoyant avec les confirmations d'opérations et de le mettre en ligne. L’IFIC aimerait savoir quelles sont les sociétés qui décident de participer à l’initiative et de connaître les quantités d’encarts distribués. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consulter le document Transmission de l’aperçu du fonds avant la souscription.

(25 février 2016)

Globe and Mail Investment Funds Supplement (February 11, 2016)
(19 février 2016)

Pleins feux sur le MRCC2 : Points à retenir pour les courtiers

Le présent bulletin présente l’orientation fournie par les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières (ACVM) et l’Association canadienne des courtiers de fonds mutuels (ACCFM) pour aider les courtiers à respecter les diverses exigences du MRCC2. Il met l’accent sur trois éléments : application des règles du MRCC2 en ce qui concerne les placements qui ne sont pas des titres, comme les contrats de fonds distincts, les rentes et les CPG; paiements de transfert reçus de sociétés affiliées; et les commissions d’indication de clients.

( 8 janvier 2016)

Liste de contrôle du courtier : MRCC2 – Exigences 2015 (Mise à jour novembre 2015)

Présente les nouveaux renseignements que les courtiers doivent inclure dans les relevés de compte de leurs clients à compter du 31 décembre 2015 et fournit également des conseils et de l’information pratique pour aider les courtiers à satisfaire à ces exigences.

(27 novembre 2015)

Renseignements aux représentants ‒ Mythes et réalités concernant le MRCC2

Cette fiche de renseignements met l’accent sur certaines erreurs factuelles fréquemment observées dans la couverture médiatique du calendrier et du contenu des exigences de déclaration relativement au MRCC2. Elle a été préparée pour fournir aux représentants des renseignements exacts sur les principaux aspects du MRCC2. Les mêmes renseignements ont été fournis aux journalistes afin d’améliorer l’exactitude de la couverture médiatique.

(22 juillet 2015)

Schématisation des frais dans le rapport modèle sur les frais et la rémunération (16 avril 2015)

Ce document qui met en correspondance les lignes des comptes dans FundSERV et les lignes du modèle de rapport sur les frais et les autres formes de rémunération de l’IFIC, de sorte que tous les courtiers soient en mesure d’indiquer leurs coûts de façon uniforme dans leurs rapports sur les frais et la rémunération.

(16 avril 2015)

Communiqués connexes

Media Release signup – promo module

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les communiqués de presse

  • Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.