Search
IFIC logo
The Voice of Canada’s Investment Funds Industry

Fiduciary Duty/Best Interest Standard

What exactly is a fiduciary duty? What do we mean by the term “best interest standard?” What is the difference between a statutory (legislated) standard and one based on common law? What does it all mean to the investor? To the advisor? To the industry?

As a minimum, all advisors are required “to deal fairly, honestly, and in good faith with clients.” They are required to “observe high standards of ethics and conduct in the transaction of business with clients.” Securities commissions and self-regulatory organizations strictly regulate disclosure, conflict of interest, education requirements and more.

Each advisor/investor relationship is unique, with different levels of knowledge, reliance and decision-making. As an industry, we believe the existing system is best able to accommodate this wide variety of relationships, serving both investors and the advisory community well.

Related Documents

Media Release signup – promo module

Register to receive media releases

Search
IFIC logo
La voix de l’industrie des fonds communs au Canada

Obligation fiduciaire et norme d’agir au mieux des intérêts du client

Qu’est-ce qu’une obligation fiduciaire? Qu’entend-on par « norme d’agir au mieux des intérêts des clients »? Quelle est la différence entre une norme prévue par la loi et une norme en common law? Quelle importance cela a-t-il pour l’investisseur? Pour le conseiller? Pour le secteur?

Tous les conseillers ont l’obligation minimale d’« agir de bonne foi et avec honnêteté et équité envers leurs clients ». Ils doivent « respecter des normes rigoureuses en matière d’éthique et de conduite dans toutes les opérations avec les clients ». Les commissions des valeurs mobilières et les organismes d’autoréglementation encadrent strictement la communication de l’information, les conflits d’intérêts, les exigences en matière de formation, etc.

Chaque relation entre un conseiller et son client est unique en ce qui a trait au niveau de connaissances, à la confiance et à la prise de décision. Nous croyons que le système actuel s’adapte au large éventail de relations et sert les intérêts des investisseurs et des conseillers.

Documents connexes

Media Release signup – promo module

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les communiqués de presse

  • Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.